Clinical Faculty Awards

Congratulations to our deserving Clinical Faculty Award winners: Allen Shoolingin, Sherri Millham, and Donald MacAskill.

Every year, UBC School of Audiology and Speech Sciences (SASS) recognizes members of its clinical faculty who demonstrate excellence in, and commitment to the clinical education of students.

This year, the 2019 Elizabeth MacLeod Award for Excellence in Clinical Education (Speech-Language Pathology) was awarded to two recipients, Allen Shoolingin and Sherri Millham of Vancouver General Hospital. We would like to acknowledge the longstanding generosity and commitment of both Allen and Sherri to the Clinical Education of SLP students. Our students describe Allen as inspiring and supportive, held in high regard by both colleagues and clients. Our students describe Sherri as attentive and a clear communicator of roles and expectations, carefully balancing their growth while modeling clinical excellence. SASS would like to thank you both for your efforts and skills and the decades of SLPs who recognize your contributions to their development as clinicians.

The 2019 Noelle Lamb Award for Excellence in Clinical Education (Audiology) was awarded to Dr. Donald MacAskill of the Vancouver Island Health Authority. Since he started with VIHA, Donald has been a gracious Clinical Educator, taking on numerous externships each year. Students have consistently acknowledged that Donald is supportive, engaging and thoughtful in his teaching methods. His skill at tailoring his mentoring to support individual strengths and learning goals has made him an excellent recipient for the award, and we look forward to the positive influence he will have on future UBC Audiology students.

For information on how to nominate a Clinical Educator, please go to